GAC Board of Directors

The Directors of the Gabriola Arts Council form a hard-working and committed volunteer Board that directs and guides GAC staff, volunteers, and committees. The members present at the Annual General Meeting in February elected the following new Directors to the Board:

Tawny Capon
Tawny is an artist, mother of three grown children, and married to musician John Capon. She has lived on Gabriola for 30 years, and has been very involved in the community as PAC Presidents for Gabriola Elementary School and NDSS, Director on the first Gabriola Island Museum Board, a paramedic on the island for 10 years, President of the Gabriola Ambulance Society, Chair of the first Gabriola Ferry Committee, Vice Chair of the Coastal Council to BC Ferries, and on the Parks and Rec Planning Committee, planning parks for Gabriola for the Regional Director. Tawny’s passion now is making mixed media and installation art, sharing it, and supporting the art-making community of this fabulous island.

Catherine Hallam
Catherine is both a passionate artist and art educator. Her background in fashion, fine arts, design, and education led her to spend the past 13 adventure-filled years travelling the world teaching art from East Africa to South China before returning to teach in Canada. She also has a small screenprinting studio where she produces a line of baby and children’s clothes. She is looking forward to joining the board and helping promote the arts on Gabriola.

Jen Reed-Lewis
Jen is a leadership consultant motivated by inspiring positive change. What she loves most about her work is getting passionate people working together, aligned and focused on achieving common goals that improve the human experience in work settings, social enterprises, and communities. An avid lover of all features in the natural world, Jen and her husband spend almost all their leisure time actively engaging with the many breathtaking natural treasures here on Gabriola.

Margy Gilmour was re-elected for her second term
Margy is a TV story producer and researcher working in the areas of documentary and factual entertainment. She has been a photographer for as long as she can remember, and is also trying her hand at silversmithing. Margy is moving into her second term of her second stint as a Director with GAC—she previously served on the board, and has enjoyed resuming her involvement with the Council.

Charlie Cheffins, Mary Holdgrafer, Tina Jones, and Robyn McMahon are in the second year of their term and were not up for re-election at the AGM.

Here is the list of all GAC Directors for 2017:

Charlie Cheffins | President
Tawny Capon | Vice President
Mary Holdgrafer | Director
Robyn McMahon | Treasurer
Margy Gilmour | Secretary
Catherine Hallam | Director
Tina Jones | Director
Jen Reed-Lewis | Director
Barbara Russell | Director


Comments are closed.